Fight Fake Matcha

Matcha and Matcha is not the same. With rising popularity of the green gold in Europe, more and more products are making their way into the market, which call themselves “Matcha”, but actually have little in common with the traditional, Japanese original. In our position as the market leader and at the same time the quality leader for the category, it explaining the differences is one of our special interests.

Matcha is not a protected term! Therefore, there is also no official definition of the criteria, “real” Matcha has to fulfill to carry the name. Thus, many suppliers get the possibility to offer industrially grounded tea products of minor quality under the name “Matcha”. Experts call these products “fake Matcha” products.

The criteria that determine the quality of a Matcha product are versatile, and usually commonly known among Matcha connoisseurs. The most important characteristics of “real Matcha” are its color, the fineness of its grinding, the raw product used for grinding and the way of cultivation and processing. Additionally, also the smell and taste of a Matcha product are crucially important quality indicators.

MATCHA COLOR

High quality Matcha has a bright, emerald green color. Yellowish or even brownish Matcha powders are of minor quality. Frequently, the raw tea used for their production is not pure, precious Tencha leaves.

MATCHA TEXTURE

With the help of a Matcha Stroke test, you can test the quality of a Matcha product on your own. Just take a spoon and put a small amount of Matcha onto a piece of paper. Draw a line with your finger. A velvety, straight line is a clear indicator of a high Matcha quality. Sandy, interrupted lines, however, could be the result of a low Matcha quality, or even a “fake” product.

RAW MATERIAL: TENCHA

Real Matcha is traditionally produced from Tencha. After harvest, the tea leaves are carefully steamed, in order to stop fermentation and keep the tea leaf fresh. Afterwards, the leaves are dried at 180 °C and all stems and vessels are removed. The pure “flesh” of the tea leaf that is left, is called Tencha. Only this is later ground into Matcha.

MATCHA CULTIVATION & PROCESSING

The green tea for traditional, original Matcha products is grown in Japan. Four weeks before harvest the tea fields are shaded with dark nets. The deprivation of light makes the plant produce more Chlorophyll. At the same time, the plant is accumulating more precious amino acids and antioxidants, and it develops its mild, slightly sweet taste. What is more: Everybody who drinks Matcha, consumes the tea leaf as a whole. Therefore, the quality of a Matcha product is crucial. Ideally, a Matcha product should be 100 % organic.

The grinding of Matcha is traditionally done in granite stonemills. This method allows the production of 30 g of Matcha powder within one hour. That is about the content of one regular tin of Matcha.

MATCHA SMELL & TASTE

The grinding in a stonemill is for sure more time consuming, but it is also the most careful way to process the delicate Tencha leaves into precious Matcha powder. Thus, the bright green color is preserved for longer, and also the fresh, slightly nutty aroma and the characteristic umami taste of the Matcha product are saved.

Fight Fake Matcha

Matcha ist nicht gleich Matcha. Mit steigender Beliebtheit des grünen Goldes in Europa finden mehr und mehr Produkte ihren Weg auf den Markt, die zwar Matcha genannt werden, eigentlich aber mit traditionellem japanischem Matcha wenig gemeinsam haben. Als Markt- und Qualitätsführer ist es uns ein besonderes Anliegen, über die Unterschiede aufzuklären.

Matcha ist kein geschützter Begriff. Daher fehlt auch eine offizielle Definition, welche Kriterien „echter“ Matcha erfüllen muss. Dies bietet zahlreichen Anbietern im Markt die Möglichkeit, auch minderwertige, industriell vermahlene Tees als „Matcha“ anzupreisen. Unter Experten werden solche Produkte als „Fake Matcha“ bezeichnet.

Die Kriterien zur Bestimmung der Matcha Qualität sind vielfältig und unter Matcha-Kennern allgemein anerkannt. Die wichtigsten Erkennungsmerkmale von „echtem“ Matcha sind seine Farbe, die Feinheit seiner Vermahlung, das Rohprodukt, aus dem er hergestellt wird und die Art des Anbaus und der Verarbeitung. Zusätzlich sind natürlich auch Geruch und Geschmack eines Matchaprodukts wichtige Qualitätsindikatoren.

MATCHA FARBE

Qualitativ hochwertiger Matcha zeichnet sich durch leuchtend smaragdgrüne Farbe aus. Gelbliche oder gar bräunliche Matcha-Pulver sind qualitativ nicht überzeugend. Sie haben häufig keine puren, edlen Tencha Blätter als Rohstoff.

MATCHA TEXTUR

Mithilfe des Streichtests kann die Qualität des Matcha ganz einfach selbst getestet werden. Einfach ein mit einem Löffel ein kleines Häufchen Matcha auf ein Blatt Papier geben und mit dem Finger eine Linie ziehen. Eine gleichmäßig grüne Linie weist auf besonders hohe Matcha-Qualität hin. Bei bröckelnden, unregelmäßigen Ergebnissen könnte es sich um „Fake-Matcha“ handeln.

ROHSTOFF: TENCHA

Echter Matcha wird traditionell aus sogenanntem Tencha hergestellt. Dafür werden die Teeblätter nach der Ernte schonend gedämpft, um die Fermentation zu stoppen und das Teeblatt frisch zu halten. Anschließend werden die Blätter bei 180 °C getrocknet und von ihren Stängeln und Äderchen befreit. Übrig bleibt das reine Blattfleisch, das auch Tencha genannt wird. Nur dieses wird zu Matcha vermahlen.

MATCHA ANBAU & VERARBEITUNG

Der Grüne Tee für traditionellen, original Matcha wird in Japan angebaut und vor der Ernte bis zu 4 Wochen lang mit dunklen Netzen überschattet. Durch den Lichtentzug bildet die Teepflanze mehr Chlorophyll und erhält so gleichzeitig mehr wertvolle Aminosäuren, und Antioxidantien, sowie ihren milden, süßlichen Geschmack. Außerdem wichtig: wer Matcha trinkt, konsumiert das ganze Teeblatt. Deshalb ist qualitativ hochwertiger Matcha stets 100 % Bio.

Die Vermahlung von Matcha erfolgt traditionell in Mühlen aus Granitstein. Diese Methode erlaubt die Vermahlung von lediglich 30 g Matcha pro Stunde. Diese Menge entspricht circa dem Inhalt einer bei uns handelsüblichen Dose.

MATCHA GERUCH & GESCHMACK

Die Vermahlung in der Steinmühle ist sehr zeitintensiv, aber auch der schonendste Weg, die feinen Tencha-Blätter zu verarbeiten und wertvollen Matcha daraus zu gewinnen. So bleibt nicht nur die strahlend grüne Farbe lange erhalten, auch das frische, leicht nussige Aroma und der charakteristische Umami-Geschmack des Matcha werden bewahrt.